East London / Restaurants Reviews

The Art of Dining : Eat Your Heart Out

I have been lucky enough to experience an intriguing Victorian dining in the heart of East London. It’s a pop up, fresh and tremendously exciting. Pop up dining has been such a hit in London, it gives up and coming chefs the chance to impress and inspire us with their passion. In this post, I would like to briefly share my little Victorian food adventure.

A nice video by Ben Dawlatly to summarise the evening

Dining | The TrishawThe venue had Victorian themed decor, a pianist playing the  most beautiful music to the ears and free cocktail at the door. The ambience was beautifully set. Even all the staffs were in costumes.

The beetroot and apple soup with feta and dill had pretty amusing flavours. I loved the addition of dill. It gave the soup a lift with an added dimension.

The sound of eating ox heart made me a little squeamish but this Vietnamese style BBQ ox heart salad was surprisingly tasty. Pat on chef Ellen’s shoulder for serving ox heart so well.

Victorian | The Trishaw

The night of entertainment and performance was fantastic! The pianist played beautiful pieces and this couple did a great job of keeping everyone in smiles and laughters.

Bloody mary | The TrishawA little bottle of potent beetroot Bloody Mary

I generally like bloody mary and did not mind the tomato substituted with beetroot but I think it was over seasoned with Worcestershire sauce. If you have read my post about Nasty Mary I had in Mumbai, you will know that my experience with modified bloody mary hasn’t been great. At least this did not burn my throat.

Rhubarb Jelly with Mackerel pate | The TrishawRhubarb and rosemary jelly with mackerel and creme fraiche pate

The jelly was so beautifully wobbly that I think it is enough to entertain me just watching it jiggle around.

Table setting | The Trishaw

Confit duck leg | The TrishawConfit duck with walnuts and pomegranate was very delicious indeed. I finished this well portioned dish.

Cocktails | The Trishaw

Treacle Tart | The TrishawLoved the treacle tart and how the cream poured from those tiny glass bottles.

I really did eat my heart out and thoroughly enjoyed the tremendously well crafted evening. I would like to thank The Art of Dining for the theatrical culinary  experience.

THE ART OF DINING
A pop-up restaurant

Leave a Reply

